Git, Glory, and Getting Sh*t Done: My Week-by-Week DevOps Grind with Nexascale

Git, Glory, and Getting Sh*t Done: My Week-by-Week DevOps Grind with Nexascale

Hey DevOps Enthusiasts!

Haven't posted about my adventures in the Nexascale DevOps mentorship program in a while, but fear not, I haven't been slacking! Juggling this program with my Zuri internship has been intense, but the knowledge I'm gaining is incredible.

Week 1: Unveiling the DevOps Mystique

To kick things off, Nexascale bombarded us (in a good way!) with fantastic resources to devour everything DevOps. From introductory courses (https://www.mygreatlearning.com/devops/free-courses) to a comprehensive roadmap (https://roadmap.sh/devops), I had everything I needed to wrap my head around this fascinating world.

Week 2: SDLC - The Software Odyssey

Week 2 threw a curveball – the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC). At first, it felt like a complex maze, but our amazing mentors transformed it into an engaging adventure! We explored each stage of the SDLC, from planning and design to deployment and monitoring. The best part? They even had us create a visual masterpiece, I use Lucid chart (think: a mind-blowing circle diagram) to map out the entire process. Trust me, visualizing the SDLC made it way more fun! Here's a sneak peek at my creation:

Image description

Week 3: Git – Mastering the Version Control Vortex

Week 3 introduced us to the mighty Git, the version control system that keeps our code organized and collaborative. Think of it as a time machine for code, allowing us to rewind, fast-forward, and explore different versions with ease. We dove headfirst into essential Git commands like branching, which helps us isolate features under development. We also learned the power of pull requests, which facilitate code review and collaboration before merging changes into the main codebase. We even tackled an assignment that put our newfound Git skills to the test, giving us hands-on experience with these powerful tools.

Image description

Week 4: Gearing Up – Essential DevOps Tools

This week was all about assembling our DevOps toolkit. We explored essential tools like Docker, the containerization champion, and Lens, our window into the magnificent world of Kubernetes. We also dabbled in creating Linux VMs, which are virtual machines that act like individual computers within a computer. By the end of the week, we were equipped to build, package, and deploy applications like DevOps rockstars!

Image description

Week 5: Build Tools – Automating the Grind (Currently In Progress!)

Currently, I'm knee-deep in the world of build tools. These bad boys automate repetitive tasks like testing and deployment, freeing us developers to focus on the creative stuff. Stay tuned for my next update where I'll spill the beans on all things build tools!

The Journey Continues!

This is just the beginning of my DevOps odyssey with Nexascale. I'm excited to keep you all updated on my progress and share the knowledge I'm gaining. Feel free to leave any questions or comments below. Let's conquer the DevOps realm together!

P.S. Missed me too much? Let me know in the comments!